#3 Erwin Blumenfeld, Double Breast

by Allison H.

600-erwin-blumenfeld

The first thing I saw was sandglass. The transition between light and shadow performs beautifully in this image. The soft lighting and the quality of film create a certain kind of gentleness.

Speaking of film, I really just can’t resist its magic, from a different way of seeing when you use a film camera, to the chemical reactions of the development and the darkroom process, everything is just too intriguing. I enjoy feeling the time stretching during all these processes, it seems to release more spirit on the images we create.

I like the composition and the tone a lot. The shapes of human body are elegantly captured. It is somewhat symmetrical yet still preserves the uncertainty of lines.

I can feel the image breathing.

 

 

https://www.modernisminc.com/artists/Erwin_BLUMENFELD/Double_Breast.html

